Welcome to “what communities need now”

Welcome to “whatcommunitiesneednow.”

I’ve lived in large cities all my life.  I was born after WWII, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  I was educated in the Milwaukee Public Schools during the 1950’s and 1960’s.  When I reflect on those times, I am proud of the education I received and I’m proud of the working class streets I walked as a child.   The city I knew is not the same place today.  And the city I live in now – Oakland, CA – while it currently has the hottest housing market in the U.S., is not the same place it was in those times.

The streets I have walked – then and now –  have shaped my life, and continue to shape my life.  Like many of you, I want to leave this city, this country, and the world better than I found it.  I want what we do to shape the lives of those whose lives we will never know.  That’s going to take work, on all our parts.

As preacher, teacher, poet and city-lover, a leader of a small, progressive, diverse community of the followers of Jesus, I am well-learned in what makes – and what doesn’t make – for community.  I’m  also open to new ideas, to your ideas and to the ideas that are born as we consider together how what we do now can begin to  shape the future.

If you’ve arrived at this blog, and you are interested, please reflect on community life with me.  Pray about it.  Talk about it with others.  Think about new ways to do old things.  Consider bringing back what is missing now.  Plant a garden.  Sit on your front porch.  Smile at your neighbors.  Let’s see what happens!

About thewisdomyears

I facilitate your conscious evolution to your deepest self-expression. I am a guide to discovering and living from your most empowered self. I work with individuals, groups, and in retreat settings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to “what communities need now”

  1. Great post, Mary Elyn! I live in NYC and residents here know that the city is made of up dozens of neighborhoods, or “communities”. It is what keeps me from feeling isolated. I take great pride in knowing the names of the shopkeepers, the farmer’s at our market, and yes, even the homeless men and women who have been around for sometimes years. And of course, one of the greatest communities around is our Life Force Healing group! xoxo

  2. Oops, I meant farmers, not farmer’s. Signed, The Perfectionist!

Leave a Reply

